Omotola Wants You To Keep Your Gender Equality Rubbish

Omotola Ekeinde and her husband, Matthew, gave pretty much the weirdest interview to Punch yesterday. It was all downhill from the creeper picture that Punch ran with.

Just look at his face. Who keeps a well groomed paedo ‘stache? Wonder what initially attracted him to Omotola?

She was beautiful, fresh and untouched. I decided to start with someone who hadn’t seen the world yet.

Yup, not creepy at all. Not even in the slightest, Matthew.

We didn’t court. I met her when she was 16 and   I was 26. We got married when she was 18

A man with that mustache likes his girls young, whowuddathunkit?

She used to come around the house and when she turned 18, I decided she was ripe. I told her I would marry her and she didn’t believe. I went to tell her late mother, who said I should wait till after four years because Tola had just gained admission to the university then. I told the mother that I couldn’t wait because I didn’t trust the guys in the university.

Is that you, R.Kelly?

What say you, Omotola?

…when I turned 18… We had been friends for about two years. He was like a family friend then but I knew he had some plans. He didn’t say anything serious and I was somehow underage. When I turned 18, on my birthday, he jokingly said, ‘babes you don grow o.’ He told me his plan.

This is like that Stockholm Syndrome thing, right? Can someone smarter than me explain this for me?

Anyway, what is Omotola’s recipe for a successful marriage?

I don’t believe in gender equality. I do not believe that God made man and woman to be equal in any way. I believe that in every organised institution, there is always a head and an assistant

I guess I can’t begrudge her. Isn’t this the whole point of feminism and stuff? Every woman has the right ti be a glorified dish rag if she wants to be. It’s not like she pushing this rubbish as an agenda.

It just depends on how you understand and play your roles. I believe women should understand this. When a woman starts a struggle for power tussle with him, it tends to cause friction in the home. The woman should give the man the respect as the head of the home and also prove herself as a worthy co-pilot.

Oh.

It’s always so hilarious when I hear stuff like this and I’ve been hearing it a lot since I moved back. 90% of the time, it’s from a woman’s mouth. Nigeria is like misogynist heaven. It’s so ingrained in the culture. Who am I to argue with woman that her place isn’t the kitchen. Telling her that she’s way better than that is still paternalistic.

…pay your tithe individually. It’s a covering. This is our secret. When you don’t pay your tithe, you have not committed yourself and your home will not be put together. It is your foundation. But when you pay your tithe, God helps you take away every devourer.

My head hurts, guys.

Leave a Reply

